Virginia Thoroughbred Association Welcomes New Officers, Board Members 

Virginia Thoroughbred Association (VTA) Executive Director Debbie Easter welcomed 2023 Officers and Board members — both new ones and those whose terms had expired — at the most recent VTA Board meeting held at the Warrenton office. 

Three-year-old Forte, early favorite in the 2023 Kentucky Derby, was bred by VTA President Amy Moore (Lauren King photo).

The ’23 slate of Officers includes President Amy Moore of South Gate Farm in Millwood (breeder of early Kentucky Derby favorite Forte), Vice-President Wayne VanSant of Atoka Forge in Middleburg, Treasurer Turner Kobayashi of Audley Farm Equine in Berryville and Past-President Susan Cooney — who recently collected her 300th training win — of Cooney Racing Stables in Delaplane.

VTA Past-President Susan Cooney (left) recently chocked up her 300th training win. She is shown with jockey Victor Carrasco after winning a race at Colonial Downs last summer.

Directors represent three different regions in the Commonwealth. New Board members in the Capitol region include Donna Dennehy (Ashland) and Alan Hutchinson (Glen Allen) who join returning members Christine Applegate (Onancock) and Chris Kuhn (Providence Forge). New Board members in the Potomac Region include Wayne Chatfield-Taylor (Front Royal), Diana McClure (Berryville) and Laura Smith (Purcellville), who join returning members Janet de Teran (Boyce), Pat Ramey (Upperville) and Larry Johnson (Bluemont). The Blue Ridge district is represented by newcomers Sara Miller (Charlottesville) and Diane Manning (Keswick) who join returnees Brooke Royster (Gordonsville) and Pat Sheperd (Culpepper). 

Ms. Easter thanked outgoing Directors A. Ferris Allen III, James Arrison, Dr. Al Griffin Jr., Ellen Kill Kelly and Robin Mellen along with Past-President Gillian Gordon-Moore for their service and dedication to the VTA.