Ned Evans Named Leading VA Breeder for 10th Time in 15 Years

The Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders Association’s 30th annual National Awards Dinner will be held Friday, September 11 at Hill ‘n’ Dale Farms in Lexington, Ky. The National Awards Dinner honors the achievements of Thoroughbred owners in the four major North American racing regions and breeders in 23 states and Canada. For the tenth time since 2000, the Estate of Edward Evans has been named Breeder of the Year in Virginia: 2000, 2003, 2004, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2013 and 2014, just announced.

TOBA’s National Breeder and National Small Breeder of the Year will be announced at the Awards Dinner.

The following regional owners will be honored:

  • Eastern Region Owner of the Year: Juddmonte Farms
  • Midwestern Region Owner of the Year: Winchell Thoroughbreds LLC
  • Southern Region Owner of the Year: Kenneth L. & Sarah K. Ramsey
  • Western Region Owner of the Year: Kaleem Shah

A National Owner of the Year will be selected from these regional owners. The National Owner will be revealed at the Awards Dinner.

The state and Canadian breeders of the year are:

Arizona: Triple AAA RanchArkansas: McDowell Farm
California: Nick Alexander
Canada: Sam-Son Farm
Florida: Ocala Stud
Illinois: Richard & Karen Papiese
Indiana: Michael E. & Penny S. Lauer
Iowa: William Hobbs
Kentucky: Kenneth & Sarah Ramsey
Louisiana: Charles Craig Smith
Maryland: Howard M. Bender
Michigan: Arnold Farms, LLC
Minnesota: Rake Farms
New Jersey: Bright View Farm, Inc.
New Mexico: J. Kirk & Judy Robison
New York: Chester & Mary Broman
North Carolina: Steve Laymon
North Dakota: Bill Maulding
Ohio: 3 Clovers FarmOregon: Dr. Rodney E. Orr
South Carolina: Franklin G. Smith

Texas: Estate of Clarence Scharbauer, Jr.
Virginia: Estate of Edward P. Evans
Washington: Todd & Shawn Hansen